Cardiology Online



Scientific Committees

International Academy of Cardiology Awards



Participant Letter

Program Topics

Scientific Program

General Information

List of Exhibitors

Abstract Guidelines

Abstract Form

Instructions for the Preparation of Posters

Registration Form


Accommodation Form


Social Program

Contact Us

* To download Scientific Program

* To download Brochure





The International Academy of Cardiology has established five awards to honor the memory of distinguished colleagues who made a major contribution to Medicine and Cardiology and who were members of the faculty for previous International Academy of Cardiology meetings. As in previous years, the recipients were selected by a very prestigious Awards Committee. The awards for 2003 will be presented at the opening ceremony of the Congress.


The WALTER BLEIFELD MEMORIAL AWARD for distinguished work in the field of Clinical Research

1995 William Ganz, USA
1996 John B. Barlow, South Africa
1997 Sidney Goldstein, USA
2000 E. Douglas Wigle, Canada
2002 Uri Elkayam, USA


The ALBRECHT FLECKENSTEIN MEMORIAL AWARD for distinguished work in the field of Basic Research

1995 Lionel H. Opie, South Africa
1996 Peter Ganz, USA
1997 Jutta Schaper, Germany
2000 Naranjan S. Dhalla, Canada
2002 Hani N. Sabbah, USA

The JAN J. KELLERMANN MEMORIAL AWARD for distinguished work in the field of Cardiovascular Disease Prevention

1995 Nanette Kass Wenger, USA
1996 James S. Forrester, USA
1997 Charles H. Hennekens, USA
2000 Bodh I. Jugdutt, Canada
2002 William T. Abraham, USA

The HANS-PETER KRAYENBUEHL MEMORIAL AWARD for distinguished work in the field of Research in Cardiac Function

1995 Edmund H. Sonnenblick, USA
1996 Harold J.C. Swan, USA
1997 William H. Gaasch, USA
2000 Ralph Shabetai, USA
2002 Jeffrey S. Borer, USA

The MELVIN L. MARCUS MEMORIAL AWARD for distinguished contribution as a Gifted Teacher
1995 Kanu Chatterjee, USA
1996 Shahbudin H. Rahimtoola, USA
1997 Robert A. O'Rourke, USA
2000 A. Jamil Tajik, USA
2002 Daniel S. Berman, USA